Working Life

A boy and a girl enter the ice cream parlour. They are shy and don’t look at each other. He lets her choose, where to sit. It seems to be their first date. He orders first, and looks at her expectantly, what she is going to order. He starts talking ans speaks about his heroic deeds in school. Slowly, she is getting used to the situation and starts laughing about his jokes. And also starts telling stories about her school life. In the beginning the stories are short, but with time she gets braver and the stories get longer. The whole time he is looking at her fascinated, but she is still shy and isn’t brave enough to look at him. He is listening carefully to what she is saying, is interested in every single bit. It seems to be the beginning of something big. As they leave, he is paying for her and together they leave the ice cream parlour.

Stories like that I have seen and observed a lot during the last couple of weeks. To earn a bit of money, I worked in an ice cream parlour. Some faces you see every day, and you already know, what ice cream they are going to order, or for what flavour they are going to ask, although I have to tell them again, that we don’t have it in the moment.
All the time you see smiling faces and it is super fun, to make up their individual stories, or to see parts of it.

The high season is over, today I had my last work day and I won’t see as many smiling faces as before. The work showed me, that my city is a lot more diverse, as I always thought it to be. There are so many people and I only know a really small percentage of them. I still don’t know them, but they showed me the possibilities in this city and how many different faces it has.

Leave a Reply

